Muslim Council of Scotland is an accord of Muslim associations, mosques and institutions in Scotland.

It is a membership-based umbrella organisation, accommodating and reflecting the variety of social and cultural backgrounds and outlook of the Muslim community.

It is an independent body working to promote consultation, cooperation and coordination on Muslim affairs in Scotland.

It is a non-sectarian and non-partisan body working for the common good without interfering in, displacing or isolating any existing work in communities.

It is a body that will seek to draw on the talents and specialist skills of individuals and the strengths of organised bodies to prepare the case for, and advocating, the responsibilities and rights of Muslims living in Scotland.


MCS conducts its work through the following Standing Committees:

  • Media & Communications
  • Finance & General Purpose
  • Communities and Mosques
  • Parliamentary
  • Other committees as needed


MCS Board Members & Office Bearers

Dr Muhammad Adrees: Convener

Mr Azzam Muhammad: Vice Convener

Dr Mohammed Ali: Secretary

Dr Abdalla Yagob Mohammed: Treasurer / Finance & General Purpose Standing Committee

Dr Javed Gill: Mosques & Communities Standing Committee

Shaykh Hassan Rabbani: Parliamentary Standing Committee

Mr Liaqat Ali: Parliamentary Standing Committee

Mr Omar Afzal: Media & Communications


Co Opted executive board members

Dr Sonia Allam

Sister Linsay Taylor

Sister Fariha Tomson


MCS Constitution

Become a Member